Most homeowners research contractors before they research financing — and then get stuck because no lender will approve a construction loan without a proper costed estimate signed by an engineer. Financing is a decision you make before you hire, not after. This guide compares your two real options for financing a house build in the Philippines — a Pag-IBIG housing loan and a bank construction loan — with current 2026 rates, requirements, and the exact documents each one will ask for.
Building, not buying, changes what a lender asks for — the construction cost estimate and bill of materials become the central document.
If you're building rather than buying a finished unit, you have two realistic financing paths in the Philippines:
Both require the same core proof: that you own or control the land, that what you plan to build is properly designed, and that the amount you're asking for matches a realistic, itemized cost to build it. That last part is where most first-time applicants lose time.
In May 2026, Pag-IBIG Fund raised its maximum housing loan ceiling from ₱6 million to ₱10 million per qualified borrower — announced by Fund CEO Marilene Acosta and Housing Secretary Jose Ramon Aliling (Pag-IBIG's Board Chair) to reach middle-income workers who want homes in higher price segments, under the national government's Pambansang Pabahay Para sa Pilipino (4PH) program.
| Feature | Pag-IBIG Housing Loan (2026) |
|---|---|
| Maximum loanable amount | Up to ₱10,000,000 (raised from ₱6M, announced May 2026) |
| Loan term | Up to 30 years (and the loan can't run past age 70) |
| Eligibility | Pag-IBIG member with at least 24 monthly contributions; not over 65 at application, not over 70 at loan maturity |
| Capacity to pay | Monthly amortization generally capped at 35% of gross monthly income |
| Promo rates (Sept 2026)* | 4.5% p.a., fixed 3 years — loans above the socialized-housing ceiling up to ₱4.9M · 5.75% p.a., fixed 3 years — loans above ₱4.9M up to the ₱10M cap · then repriced to the rate for your chosen repricing period |
| Subsidized 3% rate | 3% p.a. for the first 5 years under the Expanded 4PH program — for first-time homebuyers earning below ₱47,856/month (NCR) or ₱34,686/month (outside NCR), and all OFWs, buying socialized units: house-and-lot up to ₱950K, condo up to ₱1.8M (up to ₱2M in NCR/highly urbanized cities with zonal-value add-ons). It's built around buying socialized units, so don't assume a custom self-build qualifies — ask Pag-IBIG. |
| Promo availability | Time-limited: housing loan applications received until December 31, 2026 |
| Eligible use | Lot purchase, house construction or completion, home improvement, and other housing purposes |
*When Pag-IBIG launched the promo in June 2026, the 4.5% tier stopped at ₱2.5M. Reports from July to September 2026 put the cutoff at ₱4.9M, and that's the figure shown here. The 4.5% or 5.75% rate is locked for 3 years only. After that, the loan reprices at whatever Pag-IBIG's regular rate is then for the repricing period you picked (before the promo, the 3-year fixed rate was 6.25%). Regular rates go up as the fixing period gets longer. Pag-IBIG changes rates and tiers from time to time, so check its current rate table before you apply.
For a construction loan specifically (as opposed to buying an already-built unit), Pag-IBIG asks for a construction cost estimate and bill of materials in place of a deed of sale — this is the document that tells them exactly what they're financing and how much it should cost.
Commercial banks also finance house construction, typically with higher rates but fewer membership hurdles. Published figures below are pulled directly from each bank's own program page as of mid-2026 — banks revise rates and promos frequently, so confirm the current figures directly with the bank before applying:
| Feature | BPI (Build) | Metrobank (House Construction) | BDO (Build/Construction) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest rate | 7.00% (1-yr fixing) up to 12.00% (20-yr fixing) | 6.25% (1-yr) up to 8.25% (5-yr); no longer fixing period published | Not published as a flat rate — repriced annually off the 1-yr T-bill rate + 4%, BVAL/benchmark + 3%, or Board Rate, whichever is highest, after the initial fixing period |
| Loan-to-value | Up to 90% of property value | Up to 80% of property value | Up to 80% of appraised property value |
| Minimum loan amount | ₱400,000 | Not specified on bank's program page | Not specified on bank's program page |
| Loan term | Up to 20 years | Up to 25 years | Up to 25 years |
| Minimum income | ₱40,000/month household income; age 18–70 at maturity | ₱40,000/month (or US$1,000); age 21+, 2 yrs tenure (employed/OFW) or 3 yrs profitable operation (self-employed) | Not specified on bank's program page |
Figures above are each bank's own published program terms as fetched directly from bpi.com.ph, metrobank.com.ph, and bdo.com.ph in July 2026 — not a third-party aggregator. Rates, LTV caps, and minimums are revised periodically and often carry time-limited promos; treat these as a starting comparison, not a quote.
Get an instant ₱/sqm range with AEDO's free cost estimator, then have our licensed engineer prepare the detailed bill of materials your loan application actually needs.
Try the Free Estimator →| Pag-IBIG | Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical rate | Lower — 2026 promo rates of 4.5% (up to ₱4.9M) / 5.75% (₱4.9M–₱10M), fixed 3 years, for applications until Dec 31, 2026; 3% for qualified socialized-housing buyers | Higher — roughly 6.25%–12% depending on bank and fixing period |
| Max term | Up to 30 years | 20–25 years, varies by bank |
| Membership needed | Yes — 24 monthly contributions | No HDMF membership required |
| Processing speed | Can take longer, government process | Often faster, especially with an existing bank relationship |
| Best for | Borrowers with existing Pag-IBIG contributions who want the lowest long-term rate | Borrowers who need speed, or are financing above what Pag-IBIG's tiers favor |
Whether you go with Pag-IBIG or a bank, a construction loan application generally needs:
| Document | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Proof of land ownership | Title, current tax declaration, and real property tax receipt — the lender's collateral |
| Building plans | At minimum approved plans; most lenders want to see the building permit is in process or issued |
| Construction cost estimate & bill of materials | The document lenders size the loan against — ideally prepared or reviewed by a licensed engineer, itemized by material and labor, not a rough round number |
| Income documents | Payslips/ITR/business documents to establish capacity to pay (commonly capped at ~35% of gross monthly income for Pag-IBIG) |
| Pag-IBIG contribution record (Pag-IBIG only) | Proof of at least 24 posted monthly contributions |
The bill of materials is the document that most often derails a first-time applicant — either it's missing, or it's a rough guess that doesn't hold up when the lender's own appraiser reviews it. Our cost per sqm guide gives you realistic current ranges to sanity-check any figure before you submit it.
Unlike a purchase loan (released once, to the seller, at closing), a construction loan is commonly released in stages tied to inspected progress — for example after foundation, after structural frame, after roofing, and at completion — rather than as one lump sum. This protects the lender against paying for work that hasn't actually happened yet, but it also means your contractor payment schedule needs to line up with the lender's release schedule, not the other way around.
The exact number of releases, the inspection triggers, the documentation needed at each stage, and current interest rates all vary by lender and change periodically. Treat the figures on this page as a starting point for comparison, and get the current published terms directly from Pag-IBIG or your bank before finalizing your construction budget.
As a general pattern: if you already have Pag-IBIG contributions and your build falls within Pag-IBIG's better rate tiers, the lower long-term rate usually outweighs the slower process. If you need funds faster, are financing above what Pag-IBIG's tiers favor, or don't have the contribution history, a bank construction loan gets you moving sooner — at a higher rate. Either way, the loan amount you can realistically ask for starts with an accurate cost estimate, which is why getting that number right comes before you approach either lender.
Statutes, codes, official tools and references used or referred to in this article, linked to their source. Links open in a new tab.
Prices, cost bands and rate figures in this article are AEDO Construction's own market and practice figures for Philippine work unless a source is named beside them. Code and statute references above link to the primary text.
AEDO Construction prepares the itemized bill of materials and construction cost estimate lenders actually check — signed by a licensed civil engineer, sized to your actual plans, not a rough guess.
Yes. Pag-IBIG's housing loan program covers house construction and home improvement, not only the purchase of an existing house-and-lot or condo unit. For a construction loan, Pag-IBIG requires a construction cost estimate and bill of materials (typically prepared by a licensed engineer or architect) instead of a deed of sale, plus the usual proof of land ownership and building plans.
In May 2026 Pag-IBIG Fund raised its maximum housing loan from ₱6 million to ₱10 million per qualified borrower, payable over up to 30 years. The actual amount you can borrow is still subject to your capacity to pay (monthly amortization generally capped at 35% of gross monthly income), collateral appraisal, and standard credit evaluation — so the ₱10M figure is a ceiling, not a guaranteed amount.
Beyond standard loan paperwork (ID, income documents, Pag-IBIG membership/contribution records or bank KYC), a construction loan needs proof of land ownership (title and tax declaration), a building permit or at least approved building plans, and — the document most first-time applicants underestimate — a detailed construction cost estimate and bill of materials, ideally prepared or reviewed by a licensed engineer. Lenders size the loan against this costed estimate, so an inaccurate or incomplete one is a common cause of delay or a lower-than-expected approved amount.
Pag-IBIG generally offers lower interest rates and longer terms (up to 30 years). Its 2026 promo rates are 4.5% for loans up to ₱4.9M and 5.75% for loans above ₱4.9M up to ₱10M, both fixed for 3 years and open to applications until December 31, 2026, then repriced. Qualified socialized-housing buyers can get a subsidized 3%. It requires Pag-IBIG membership with at least 24 monthly contributions and can take longer to process. Bank construction loans usually have higher rates (roughly 6.25%-12% depending on the bank and fixing period) and terms of 20-25 years depending on the bank, but no HDMF membership requirement and often faster turnaround for borrowers who already bank with that institution. Higher-income borrowers building above the socialized-housing price ceiling, or those who need funds faster, often lean toward a bank; borrowers who already have Pag-IBIG contributions and want the lowest long-term rate often go through Pag-IBIG. Compare the actual published rate, term, and fees from each before deciding — both change periodically.
For construction loans (as opposed to loans to buy a finished unit), lenders commonly release proceeds in stages tied to inspected construction progress rather than as a single lump sum, to make sure the money is actually being used to build. The exact number of releases, the trigger inspections, and the documentation required at each stage vary by lender — confirm the specific release schedule with your loan officer before you finalize your construction budget and contractor payment schedule.
Get an instant ₱/sqm range for your build by type and finish tier — the starting number for any loan application, before you commission a full bill of materials.
AEDO Construction prepares the itemized, engineer-signed bill of materials and construction cost estimate that Pag-IBIG and banks actually check — plus the sealed structural plans your permit needs. One consultation covers both.